Quoting: Coxe on the Swiss people

I feel great delight in breathing the air of liberty ; every person here has apparently the mien of content and satisfaction. The cleanliness of the houses, and of the people, is peculiarly striking ; and I can trace in all their manners, behaviour, and dress, some strong outlines, which distinguish this happy people from the neighbouring nations. Perhaps it may be prejudice and unreasonable partiality ; but Iam the more pleased, because their first appearance reminds me of my own countrymen, and I could almost think, for a moment, that I am in England.

Coxe, William. Travels in Switzerland, and in the Country of the Grisons: In a Series of Letters to William Melmoth, Esq. Third ed. London: Cadell, 1794.

Leave a Reply

